The Premier receives \$7,500 per annum in addition to the salary for any other portfolio he may hold. The salary of each Cabinet Minister is \$10,000 and the amount paid as indemnity to each member of the House of Assembly is \$3,400 plus an additional \$1,700 allowance for expenses. The Leader of the Opposition receives an additional \$6,000 and the Speaker receives an allowance of \$4,000 in addition to the regular indemnity.

19.—Legislatures of New Brunswick, 1945-64, as at Apr. 30, 1964

Norg.-Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 77; for 1924-35 in the 1938 edition, p. 112; and for 1936-44 in the 1963-64 edition, p. 84.

| Date of | Legislature | Number | Date of | Date of |
|--|-------------|-----------------------|--|---|
| Election | | of Sessions | First Opening | Dissolution |
| Aug. 28, 1944 June 28, 1948 Sept. 22, 1952 June 18, 1956 June 27, 1960 Apr. 22, 1963 | 13th | 4 4 4 3 1 | Feb. 20, 1945 Mar. 8, 1949 Feb. 12, 1953 Feb. 21, 1957 Nov. 17, 1960 May 28, 1963 | May 18, 1948 July 16, 1952 Apr. 17, 1956 May 19, 1960 Mar. 12, 1963 |

¹ Life of Legislature not expired at Apr. 30, 1964.

20.-Twenty-Third Ministry of New Brunswick, as at Apr. 30, 1964

(Party standing at latest General Election, Apr. 22, 1963: 31 Liberal and 21 Progressive Conservative.)

| Office | Name | Date of First Appointment | Date of Present Appointment | |
|---|---|---|--|--|
| Premier and Attorney General. Minister of Finance and Industry. Minister of Lands and Mines. Minister of Public Works. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Labour. Minister of Labour. Minister of Municipal Affairs. Chairman, New Brunswick Electric Power Commission. Minister of Youth and Welfare. Minister of Fisheries. Provincial Secretary. | Hon, H. G. CROCNER. Hon, HENRY G. IRWIN. Hon, ANDREW F. RICHARD. Hon, J. ADRIEN LÉVESQUE Hon, GEORGE L. DUMONT. Hon, KENNETH J. WEBBER. Hon, JOSEPH E. LEBLANC. | July 12, 1960 July 12, 1960 May 28, 1963 May 28, 1963 | July 12, 1960 July 3, 1963 Nov. 30, 1963 July 8, 1963 July 8, 1963 | |

Subsection 5.—Quebec

The Government of Quebec consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a bicameral legislature—the Legislative Council and the Legislative Assembly. Lieutenant-Governors from Confederation (1867) to 1959 are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 109; since that date the position has been held by the Hon. Onésime Gagnon, commissioned to office Feb. 14, 1958 followed by the Hon. Paul Comtois, commissioned to office Oct. 6, 1961.

The Legislative Council has 24 members nominated for life by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. The Legislative Assembly has 95 elected members and, like the Legislative Council, has the power to bring forward Bills relating to civil and administrative matters and to the amendment or repeal of existing laws. A Bill to be approved by the Lieutenant-Governor must have received the assent of both Houses. Only the Legislative Assembly can bring forward a Bill requiring the expenditure of public money. The